Six Nations 2017 Team Profile: Scotland

Six Nations Team Profile: Scotland


Head Coach – Vern Cotter

New Zealander Vern Cotter has been in charge of Scotland since 2014 and led them to the Rugby World Cup quarter-finals in 2015.

The 54-year-old has made a significant impact in a relatively short period of time, piecing together a squad that can now compete with the very best on their day.

Cotter’s contract ends at the end of the 2016/17 season and the Scottish Rugby Union has announced Glasgow Warriors chief Gregor Townsend as his replacement.

Captain – Greig Laidlaw

Scotland skipper Greig Laidlaw has led his country more than anyone else, scoring 570 Test points in the process.

The 31-year-old, who made his international debut over six years ago, was nominated for World Player of the Year in 2015 and is renowned as one the world’s finest goalkickers.

This could be Laidlaw’s last Six Nations as captain after he signed a deal to join Top 14 side Clermont in the summer.

What channel are Scotland on?
Saturday, February 4th: Scotland v Ireland (BBC, 2:25pm kick-off) 
Sunday February 12th: France v Scotland (BBC, 3pm) 
Saturday, February 25th: Scotland v Wales (BBC, 2:25pm)
Saturday, March 11th: England v Scotland (ITV, 4pm) 
Saturday, March 18th: Scotland v Italy (BBC, 12:30pm)
For the full Six Nations fixture list, CLICK HERE

Stadium – Murrayfield Stadium
Murrayfield is recognised as one of the most prestigious stadiums in Europe. The Scottish home fans are also guaranteed to create an electric atmosphere during the 2017 Six Nations. 
Capacity: 67,800
Did you know? During the Second World War the ground at Murrayfield was offered to the nation and was taken over by the Royal Army Service Corps and used as a supply depot.
Rugby History: Although a union stadium, Murrayfield hosted the Rugby League Challenge Cup Finals of 2000 and 2002.

Key Player – Stuart Hogg

Stuart Hogg was the Player of the Tournament at last year’s Six Nations, scoring one of the tries of the championship against Ireland (Below).

The 24-year-old has since deservedly become the highest-paid player in Scottish rugby history after signing a bumper £375,000-a-year deal to stay at Glasgow Warriors.

Hogg will now look to drive his country forward once again in 2017 with a number of his trademark breaks and last-ditch tackles.

Rising Star – Huw Jones

Huw Jones has quickly established himself as a game-changer during his first three Tests.

The 23-year-old scored a brace against Australia on debut during the Autumn internationals and followed up with a sublime assist for Sean Maitland’s try during Scotland’s narrow 19-16 win over Argentina a week later.

Scottish Rugby remains keen to sign Jones for either Edinburgh or Glasgow Warriors, but his South African province are believed to be resistant to letting the player leave before his contract ends in October 2017

Social Media Favourite – Tim Visser

The Scots are not the most prominent on social media but winger Tim Visser often has something to offer and is worth a follow.

Record vs
England: Won 42, Lost 74, Drawn 18
France: Won 35, Lost 52, Drawn 3
Ireland: Won 66, Lost 61, Drawn 5
Italy: Won 18, Lost 8, Drawn 0
Wales: Won 48, Lost 70, Drawn 3

Year-end ranking: 7

Scotland 2017 RBS 6 Nations squad
Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors) – 3 caps
Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped
Allan Dell (Edinburgh Rugby) – 3 caps
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 4 caps
Willem Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) – 15 caps
Gordon Reid (Glasgow Warriors) – 19 caps
Jon Welsh (Newcastle Falcons) – 11 caps
Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps
Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby) – 102 caps
Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) – 9 caps
Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps
Richie Gray (Toulouse) – 60 caps
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) – 15 caps
Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors) – 25 caps
Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby) – 1 cap
John Barclay (Scarlets) – 55 caps
Cornell Du Preez (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped
John Hardie (Edinburgh Rugby) – 13 caps
Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors) – 19 caps
Josh Strauss (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps
Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) – 5 caps
Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 23 caps
Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN (Gloucester) – 56 caps
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap
Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors) – 18 caps
Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors) – 22 caps
≈ (Edinburgh Rugby) – 23 caps
Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps
Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) – 19 caps
Huw Jones (Stormers) – 3 caps
Matt Scott (Gloucester) – 36 caps
Duncan Taylor (Saracens) – 18 caps
Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) – 48 caps
Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby) – 2 caps
Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 26 caps
Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 31 caps
Tim Visser (Harlequins) – 28 caps