TRANSFER | Harlequins confirm the signing of 'explosive' scrum-half - Ruck

TRANSFER | Harlequins confirm the signing of ‘explosive’ scrum-half

Harlequins have confirmed the signing of former London Irish scrum-half Scott Steele.

The 26-year-old joins the Club with immediate effect to play throughout the remainder of the 2019/20 season and will remain with the Club ahead of the 2020/21 season and beyond.

With 115 points to his name throughout a 127-cap career for the Exiles, Steele adds considerable experience and dynamism to an already impressive scrum-half department, competing for the starting nine jersey with England and Argentina internationals Danny Care and Martin Landajo, both of whom boast 84 caps for their respective national sides.

A skilled footballer, the former Leicester Tigers Academy and Scotland U20 representative played rugby and football from a young age, representing Kilmarnock in pro youth football.

Commenting on his move to The Stoop, Steele said: “I’m really excited about a new challenge after a six-year period with London Irish.


“I’m looking forward to working with and learning off a great variety of experienced heads and impressive young talent at the Club. 

“The coaching setup at Quins is full of experience and I think there’s huge potential for me to further develop my game here.”

LIST | Rugby Legends Select Their British & Irish Lions XV’s for 2021

Will Greenwood

The England legend picked his current Lions XV for Sky Sports, based on form during the 2020 Six Nations,

15. Stuart Hogg (Sco), 14. Jonny May (Eng), 13. Manu Tuilagi (Eng), 12. Hadleigh Parkes (Wal), 11. Elliot Daly (Eng), 10. Owen Farrell (Eng), 9. Ali Price (Sco); 1. Rory Sutherland (Sco), 2.Jamie George (Eng), 3. Kyle Sinckler (Eng), 4. Maro Itoje (Eng), 5. James Ryan (Ire), 6. Tom Curry (Eng), 7. Justin Tipuric (Wal), 8. CJ Stander (Ire)

Lawrence Dallaglio

Speaking on The Ruck Podcast on The Times website, Dallaglio revealed his Lions XV…

15. Liam Williams (Wal), 14. Josh Adams (Wal), 13. Jonathan Davies (Wal), 12. Robbie Henshaw (Ire), 11. Anthony Watson (Eng), 10. Owen Farrell (Eng), 9. Tomos Williams (Wal); 1. Joe Marler (Eng), 2.Jamie George (Eng), 3. Tadhg Furlong (Ire), 4. Maro Itoje (Eng), 5. James Ryan (Ire), 6. Courtney Lawes (Eng), 7. Tom Curry (Eng), 8. Taulupe Faletau (Wal)