Dan Biggar responds to claims he over-ruled captain Alun Wyn Jones

  • Dan Biggar says he was hurt by the suggestion he over-ruled Alun Wyn Jones
  • The incident occurred during Wales’ 29-13 defeat by Scotland
  • Leigh Halfpenny has admitted he turned down the chance to kick at goal
Wales fly-half Dan Biggar has explained how hurt he’s felt by suggestions he overruled skipper Alun Wyn Jones on the much-debated penalty kick call at Murrayfield.

Jones wanted to go for the three points when Wales were awarded a penalty on 50 minutes, with his team trailing just 16-13 to Scotland at the time.


RUCK QUIZZES:

“The bottom line is Leigh has held his hands up and said he didn’t fancy the kick. It was a tough day and a tough kick,” Biggar said.

“If if it was on the 22 and bang in front (of the posts) I wouldn’t have asked Al.

“As it was on the touchline I’ve asked the question about whether to go for the corner.



“It was a very amicable chat and for me it was never about overruling the captain.

“It’s been a pretty hurtful couple of days. It’s not nice being questioned about whether you’ve overruled the captain, let alone it being someone like Alun Wyn who I’ve huge respect for.”

%d bloggers like this: