Wales team to play Ireland: 2022 Six Nations - Ruck

Wales team to play Ireland: 2022 Six Nations

Wayne Pivac has named his Wales team to play Ireland in their 2022 Six Nations opener at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

Josh Adams gets his first international start at centre, partnering Nick Tompkins in the Wales midfield.

Captain Dan Biggar is at outside half with Tomos Williams at scrum half.

Pivac said:

“We’ve selected Josh Adams at 13. It’s something we’ve been thinking about for a while. He’s done it in training and in small doses at the end of a game. We think this is a golden opportunity to answer that question.

“Really pleased for Ross. He’s wrapped to be back in the match day 23 and I think it’s just really around game time at the moment. We think coming off the bench he’ll make an impact, so that’s why we’ve gone that way.

“Really happy for Dewi. He’s a big man, a very good rugby player. Strong over the ball and gives us something in defence as well as his attacking prowess.

“History in Dublin, it’s a hard place to go. There have been some great games in recent years against Ireland.

“They’re a very, very tough, very physical side. So we know we’re going to have to step up in that area of the game and make sure we do that for 80 mins. We’ve got to be very disciplined and as a result be in there fighting for the right result.”

What time is kick-off?

2.15pm GMT.

What TV channel is it on?


Who is the referee?

  • Referee: Jaco Peyper (SARU)
  • Assistant Referee 1: Mathieu Raynal (FFR)
  • Assistant Referee 2: Angus Gardner (RA)
  • TMO: Stuart Terheege (RFU)

Full list of referees for the Six Nations.

Are there any fan zones that I can go to watch the game?

4TheFans have fan parks in Glasgow, London and Bristol.

Wales team to play Ireland:

Wales: Liam Williams; Johnny McNicholl, Josh Adams, Nick Tompkins, Louis Rees-Zammit; Dan Biggar, Tomos Williams; Wyn Jones, Ryan Elias, Tomas Francis, Will Rowlands, Adam Beard, Ellis Jenkins, Taine Basham, Aaron Wainwright.

Replacements: Dewi Lake, Gareth Thomas, Dillon Lewis, Seb Davies, Ross Moriarty, Gareth Davies, Callum Sheedy, Owen Watkin.


%d bloggers like this: