Wales team to play South Africa: Autumn Nations Series - Ruck

Wales team to play South Africa: Autumn Nations Series

Wayne Pivac has named his Wales team to play South Africa in Cardiff this weekend.

Loosehead prop Rhys Carré comes into the front row alongside hooker Ryan Elias and tighthead prop Tomas Francis, with Wyn Jones moving to the replacements bench.

Dragons lock Will Rowlands links up with Ospreys lock Adam Beard in the second row to win his 12th international cap.

Cardiff Rugby’s Ellis Jenkins comes in for Moriarty in the back row, making his long-awaited return to international injury after suffering a knee injury against South Africa three years ago. Dragons pair Taine Basham and Aaron Wainwright retain their places at seven and number 8 respectively.

Scrum half Tomos Williams remains at scrum half while the experienced fly half Dan Biggar, making his 93rd international appearance, returns to the starting line-up after a summer touring with the British & Irish Lions.

Saracens centre Nick Tompkins partners up in midfield with captain Jonathan Davies, with Louis Rees-Zammit linking up in the back three with fellow winger Josh Adams and fullback Johnny McNicholl.

Where to watch the Autumn Nations Series:

Prime members can watch the Autumn Nations Series live from 30th October with the Prime Video app on TVs, mobile devices, Amazon Fire TV, Fire TV Stick, Fire tablets, games consoles, on Virgin’s V6 TV Box, the Talk Talk TV set top box, Apple TV, Chromecast, BT TV or online.

For a list of all compatible devices visit

Wales team to play South Africa:

15 Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets)
14 Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby)
13 Jonathan Davies (Scarlets – Capt)
12 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)
11 Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby)
10 Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints)
9 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby);
1 Rhys Carré (Cardiff Rugby)
2 Ryan Elias (Scarlets)
3 Tomas Francis (Ospreys)
4 Will Rowlands (Dragons)
5 Adam Beard (Ospreys)
6 Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Rugby)
7 Taine Basham (Dragons)
8 Aaron Wainwright (Dragons)

16 Bradley Roberts (Ulster – uncapped)
17 Wyn Jones (Scarlets)
18 WillGriff John (Scarlets – uncapped)
19 Ben Carter (Dragons)
20 Seb Davies (Cardiff Rugby)
21 Gareth Davies (Scarlets)
22 Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys)
23 Liam Williams (Scarlets)

South Africa team to play Wales:

South Africa: Damian Willemse; Jesse Kriel, Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Makazole Mapimpi; Handré Pollard, Herschel Jantjies; Ox Nché, Bongi Mbonambi, Trevor Nyakane, Eben Etzebeth, Lood de Jager, Siya Kolisi, Kwagga Smith, Duane Vermeulen.

Replacements: Malcolm Marx, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Franco Mostert, Jasper Wiese, Cobus Reinach, Elton Jantjies, Frans Steyn.


Foreign-Born Players at 2021 Autumn Nations Series: Home Nations

WALES (14):

  1. Tomas Francis (York, England)
  2. WillGriff John (Plymouth, England)
  3. Ben Carter (Crowborough, England)
  4. Will Rowlands (London, England)
  5. Christ Tshiunza (Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo)
  6. Taulupe Faletau (TofoaTonga)
  7. Ross Moriarty (Liverpool, England)
  8. Gareth Anscombe (Auckland, New Zealand)
  9. Jonathan Davies (Solihull, England)
  10. Willis Halaholo (Auckland, New Zealand)
  11. Nick Tompkins (Sidcup, England)
  12. Johnny Williams (Weston-super-Mare, England)
  13. Johnny McNicholl (Christchurch, New Zealand)
  14. Bradley Roberts (South Africa)
Taulupe Faletau during the Gallagher Premiership Rugby Match between Bath Rugby and Saracens at the Recreation Ground on 17 Oct. Photo: Steve Haag/PPAUK