Wallabies ring the changes for England clash

Wallabies ring the changes for England clash

  • Michael Cheika reverts to starting XV from opening match against Fiji
  • Australia without man mountain Will Skelton, who has been ruled out the tournament with injury
  • Defeat for England would see them all but eliminated 
  • Stuart Lancaster to name England team at 12:00 BST

Australia have made 14 changes to the team that scored ten tries against Uruguay last weekend ahead of their crucial match versus England at Twickenham on Saturday

Michael Cheika, the Wallabies head coach, has reverted to the exact starting XV that took on Fiji in their Rugby World Cup opener.

Bernard Foley returns at fly-half with Quade Cooper, who missed six out of ten conversions against the South Americans, as expected giving way.

Michael Hooper plays alongside David Pocock in the back-row while Matt Giteau comes in at inside-centre.

Australia leads Pool A on points difference after two victories while an England defeat would see Stuart Lancaster’s men all but out. This failure would the be the first time in Rugby World Cup history that the primary host has been eliminated at the pool stage.

Cheika will be disappointed to be without lock Will Skelton and number eight Wycliff Palu, who have both been ruled out of the tournament after being hurt against Uruguay. Sam Carter and James Hanson have called up to replaced them.

Stuart Lancaster’s team is due to be announced at 12:00 BST on Thursday.

Australia team

15.Israel Folau; 14.Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13.Tevita Kuridrani, 12.Matt Giteau, 11.Rob Horne; 10.Bernard Foley, 9.Will Genia; 1.Scott Sio, 2.Stephen Moore, 3.Sekope Kepu; 4.Kane Douglas, 5.Rob Simmons; 6.Scott Fardy, 7.Michael Hooper, 8.David Pocock.


%d bloggers like this: