Warren Gatland names his 34-man Wales squad for the Six Nations - Ruck

Warren Gatland names his 34-man Wales squad for the Six Nations

  • Tom James and Scarlets scrum-half Aled Davies have been named in Wales’ 37-man squad 
  • Rhys Priestland is named after reversing a decision to take a break from international rugby
  • Wales’ Six Nations campaign begins away to holders Ireland on 7 February
Cardiff Blues wing Tom James has been recalled to Wales’ squad for the Six Nations an icnredible six years after winning his last cap.

After naming a 37-man squad, Wales chief Warren Gatland said: “We have selected a squad that rewards players form as well as picking a lot of experience and that continuity is important to us.

“We have picked a larger squad than normal – we have a few injuries at the moment, those players aren’t too far away from getting back on the field so we are happy with the mix.”

Blues Sam Warburton is ialso ncluded as expected despite not featuring for Cardiff since November, while Scarlets full-back Liam Williams’ last game was at the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

Centre Jonathan Davies is also back in  after cruciate ligament damage ruled him out of last year’s World Cup, but Leigh Halfpenny, Scott Williams and Rhys Webb all miss out through injury.

Rob Evans (Scarlets), Paul James (Ospreys), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Luke Charteris (Racing 92), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Dominic Day (Bath Rugby), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Blues), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons), James King (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (CAPT) (Cardiff Blues).
Aled Davies (Scarlets) *, Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues) Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (Clermont Auvergne), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Tom James (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Matthew Morgan (Bristol Rugby), Liam Williams (Scarlets).


%d bloggers like this: