Wasps 70-22 Bristol: 13 tries in record-breaking game

Wasps 70-22 Bristol: Dai Youngs’ men produce attacking masterclass

  • Dominant Wasps power past Bristol at the Ricoh Arena 70-22
  • Dai Youngs’ men remain top of the table and Bristol still have only a single point
  • The hosts scored ten tries in a mental afternoon of rugby
Wasps missed out on making Aviva Premiership Rugby history by a solitary point after scoring ten tries in an unforgettable victory over Bristol Rugby.

Dai Young’s men produced an attacking masterclass as their exciting backline and impressive pack grabbed five tries in each half at the Ricoh Arena.

Elliot Daly, Christian Wade and Ashley Johnson all grabbed braces, and there were also tries for Tommy Taylor, Jake Cooper-Woolley, Matt Symons and Danny Cipriani as the Black and Golds just missed out on breaking their own record points total, which was set two years ago when they beat London Welsh 71-7.

For Bristol, all three of their tries came in the second period through Jack Lam, Mitch Eadie and Gaston Cortes as they continue their search for a first Premiership Rugby win since their return.


Wasps: 15 Rob Miller, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Jimmy Gopperth, 11 Frank Halai, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Joe Simpson, 8 Guy Thompson, 7 Thomas Young, 6 Alex Rieder, 5 James Gaskell (c), 4 Matt Symons, 3 Jake Cooper-Woolley, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Simon McIntyre
Replacements: 16 Ashley Johnson, 17 Matt Mullan, 18 Phil Swainston, 19 Kearnan Myall, 20 Nathan Hughes, 21 Craig Hampson, 22 Kyle Eastmond, 23 Josh Bassett

Bristol: 15 Jordan Williams, 14 Ryan Edwards, 13 William Hurrell, 12 Thretton Palamo, 11 Tom Varndell, 10 Tusi Pisi, 9 Will Cliff, 8 Mitch Eadie, 7 Olly Robinson, 6 Jack Lam(c), 5 Joe Joyce, 4 Ian Evans, 3 Anthony Perenise, 2 Ross McMillan, 1 Ryan Bevington
Replacements: 16 Chris Brooker, 17 Soane Tonga’uiha, 18 Gaston Cortes, 19 James Phillips, 20 Jordan Crane, 21 Martin Roberts, 22 Adrian Jarvis, 23 Ben Mosses

Date: Sunday, September 17
Venue: Ricoh Arena
Kick-off: 14:30 BST (13:30 GMT)
Referee: Tim Wigglesworth
Assistant Referees: Ross Campbell, Gareth Copsey
TMO: Keith Lewis


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: