WATCH: Nigel Owens mistake costs Samoa - Ruck

WATCH: Nigel Owens mistake costs Samoa

Nigel Owens made an unfortunate error during the game between Samoa and the USA on Saturday which cost Samoa a try and possibly the game.

The game finished 13-10 to the USA meaning the Eagles are top of Pool A in the Pacific Nations Cup.

At the end of the first half Samoa’s right winger deliberately intercepted the ball with his foot before regathering the ball and running under the posts from 50 metres out.


But Owens had already blown his whistle for a scrum after confusion between himself and his assistant referee led the Welshman to call a knock-on.

The Welshman apologised but it ultimately cost the Samoans the game.