Home > Rugby News > What would the Premiership look like if it was split into conferences like the NFL

What would the Premiership look like if it was split into conferences like the NFL

If you don’t know the NFL structure, there are eight divisions. This will only be five in our Premiership version.

These teams play their own division teams twice (Home and away), and an assortment of other teams for a total of 16 games.

At the end of that, the five division winners, plus the three best performing other teams enter a playoff, very much like the European Champions Cup

Divisions are split up roughly by location, and division names are given based on the general area.

Obviously, the 12 Premiership teams made it in. The other eight all came from the Championship and were decided using a combination of recent league performance and best suited by location.

I’m expecting disagreements with some of these but cut me a little slack. Here are the divisions:


  • Doncaster Knights
  • Newcastle Falcons
  • Sale Sharks
  • Yorkshire Carnegie


  • Ealing Trailfinders
  • Harlequins
  • London Irish
  • Saracens


  • Bedford Blues
  • Leicester Tigers
  • Northampton Saints
  • Nottingham


  • Bristol Bears
  • Gloucester
  • Wasps
  • Worcester Warriors


  • Bath
  • Cornish Pirates
  • Exeter Chiefs
  • Jersey

3 Responses

    1. Vic Wiseman

      Looks an interesting idea but the groups are greatly unbalanced with the Midlands 2 the Pool of Death! How will this be handled each season to to give an even playing field and stop certain Premiership clubs dominating? On this basis final will always be Saries v Exeter!

      Concept is interesting but needs some more work to make it more equitable all round.

  1. Phil

    One way to keep the number of games the same would be to follow the NFL. Play home and away in your own division, plus one game against everyone else – either home or away. That would mean 6 games in your division and plus 16 against everyone else = 22 games in total.

Leave a Reply