Worcester 15-30 Exeter: Chiefs continue to challenge at the top after another impressive bonus-point triumph

  • Exeter battled to a bonus-point win against Worcester at Sixways
  • Tries from James Short, Ian Whitten, Don Armand and Thomas Waldrom ensured maximum points for the Chiefs
  • Five penalties from Tom Heathcote completed the Warriors tally
Exeter Chiefs’ fine 2015/16 Premiership campaign continued this afternoon as they eased past Worcester Warriors 30-15 at Sixways.

Tom Heathcote kicked all of Worcester’s points with five penalty goals as they trailed 13-12 at the break.

But it was four ties from Exeter which saw them clear; James Short opened the scoring after two minutes, before a further first-half try from Ian Whitten.

Gareth Steenson kicked one goal and hit a penalty shortly after the restart, before adding a second conversion as he improved Thomas Waldrom’s try on the hour mark.

Don Armand got Chiefs’ final score try of the night, dotting down on 68 minutes, before Steenson rounded off the scoring with a late penalty goal.to put the seal on a fine bonus-point win for Rob Baxter’s men.

Worcester: 15 Chris Pennell, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 Ryan Mills , 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 Tom Heathcote, 9 Luke Baldwin, 8 GJ van Velze (c), 7 Marco Mama, 6 Phil Dowson, 5 Darren Barry, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Niall Annett, 1 Na’ama Leleimalefaga.
Replacements: 16 Ben Sowrey, 17 Ryan Bower, 19 James Johnston, 19 Tevita Cavubati, 20 Matt Cox, 21 Charlie Mulchrone, 22 Andy Symons, 23 Dean Hammond.

Exeter: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Olly Woodburn, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Ian Whitten, 11 James Short, 10 Gareth Steenson, 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Don Armand, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Jonny Hill, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Jack Yeandle (c), 1 Alec Hepburn,
Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Ben Moon, 18 Alex Brown, 19 Ollie Atkins, 20 Kai Horstmann, 21 Dave Lewis, 22 Will Hooley, 23 Sam Hill

Date: Sunday, January 31
Venue: Sixways
Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys
Assistant Referees: Peter Allan, Roger Baileff
TMO: Sean Davey


%d bloggers like this: