Worcester 28-20 Gloucester: Warriors hang on at Sixways to claim a second successive Premiership win for the first time in four seasons

  • Worcester took the bragging rights in the M5 Derby, defeating Gloucester 28-20 at Sixways on Saturday
  • Warriors led 15-10 at the break after the second of two tries for Bryce Heem
  • A second-half pile-up by the posts, earned Warriors a third try, credited to hooker Niall Annett.
  • James Hook’s try earned him an individual 15-point haul
Worcester claimed a second successive Premiership win for the first time in four seasons as they hung on to beat local rivals Gloucester at Sixways.

The hosts won for the first time in four meetings against head coach Dean Ryan’s former club, having lost the three previous meetings in the Premiership and European Challenge Cup.

For Gloucester, the chance to move into the top four was wasted thanks to their continuing away troubles, having won just once on the road this season, which came on the opening day against Newcastle.

The Warriors move 13 points clear of bottom side London Irish, with Bryce Heem’s two tries proving to be the difference between the rivals.

Worcester: 15 Chris Pennell, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 Ryan Mills, 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 Tom Heathcote, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 GJ van Velze (c), 7 Carl Kirwan, 6 Phil Dowson, 5 Darren Barry, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Niall Annett, 1 Val Rapava Ruskin
Replacements: 16 Ben Sowrey, 17 Na’ama Leleimalefaga, 18 James Johnston, 19 Dan Sanderson, 20 Sam Betty, 21 Luke Baldwin, 22 Ryan Lamb, 23 Andy Symons

Gloucester: 15 Rob Cook, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Bill Meakes, 12 Billy Twelvetrees (c), 11 David Halaifonua, 10 James Hook, 9 Willi Heinz, 8 Ross Moriarty, 7 Matt Kvesic, 6 Sione Kalamafoni, 5 Jeremy Thrush, 4 Tom Savage, 3 John Afoa, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Nick Wood
Replacements:16 Darren Dawidiuk, 17 Yann Thomas, 18 Paul Doran-Jones, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Lewis Ludlow, 21 Callum Braley, 22 Henry Trinder, 23 Steve McColl


Date: Saturday, March 12
Venue: Sixways
Kick-off: 14:00 GMT
Referee: Ian Tempest
Assistant Referees: Peter Allan, John Meredith
TMO: Rowan Kitt


%d bloggers like this: