Worcester Warriors star named December player of the month - Ruck

Worcester Warriors star named December player of the month

WORCESTER WARRIORS wing Josh Adams has today been named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month for December 2017. 

Adams has been in stellar form for the Warriors climbing to the top of the Aviva Premiership Rugby scoring charts with nine this season.

And Rugby World Cup winner Will Greenwood today described him as a wing with “raw power, real balance and deft feet”.

“Josh Adams is having one of those purple patches where he would score if the opposition blindfolded him,” said Greenwood.

“Cricketers talk of seeing the ball like a football, golfers of feeling as if the hole is as big as a bucket when putting. Almost invincible.

“Adams is big and quick which is a great start. But he adds to this raw power with real balance and deft feet. Continually improving his understanding of back three play. It would be remarkable were he not to get some international recognition in 2018.”

Adams was judged by a panel of experts as the player who made the biggest impact in the League over the month. He was involved in a four-way battle for the latest title, eventually beating Wasps’ duo Danny Cipriani and Dan Robson and Exeter Chiefs’ back-rower Don Armand to the title.

Adams was voted for by a panel of media professionals based on his performances in November – Nick Mullins (BT Sport), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Mick Cleary (The Daily Telegraph), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), Jonny Fordham (The Sun), Jill Douglas (ITV Sport), Chris Jones (BBC 5 Live), David Rogers (Getty Images) and Tom Hamilton (ESPN). The panel was chaired by Paul Morgan, Premiership Rugby’s Communications Director.

Adams wins a trophy and a £250 donation to the charity of his choice. 

Winners in the 2017-18 season
December – Josh Adams (Worcester Warriors)
November – Ruan Ackermann (Gloucester Rugby)
October – Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
September – Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Winners in the 2016-17 season
April – Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby)
March – Christian Wade (Wasps)
February – James Short (Exeter Chiefs)
December – Tom Varndell (Bristol Rugby)
November – Freddie Burns (Leicester Tigers)
October – Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
September – Jimmy Gopperth (Wasps)
Winners in the 2015-16 season
October – Nick Evans (Harlequins)
November – Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
December – Maro Itoje (Saracens)
January – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)
February – George Smith (Wasps)
March – Francois Hougaard (Worcester Warriors)
April – Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints)
Winners in the 2014-15 season
September – Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)
October – Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)

November – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)

December – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)

January – Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)

February – Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)

March – Elliot Daly (Wasps)

April – Joe Simpson (Wasps)

Winners in the 2013-14 season
September – Jacques Burger (Saracens)
October – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)

November – George Ford (Bath Rugby)

December – Nick Easter (Harlequins)

January – Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)

February – Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers)

March – Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)

April – Chris Ashton (Saracens)