Argentina 26-24 South Africa: Pumas edge Boks for famous win - Ruck

Argentina 26-24 South Africa: Pumas edge Boks for famous win

  • Argentina overcame South Africa 26-24 for their first win of this year’s Rugby Championship
  • Joaquín Tuculet’s try combined with the boot of Nicolas Sanchez put the Pumas 13-3 up at the break
  • Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias kicked the winning points after an end-to-end second half
Argentina’s Pumas earned a historic first ever victory over South Africa by beating the Springboks 26-24 in a Rugby Championship match in Salta.

The Pumas has beat South Africa in Durban in the Rugby Championship last year but this is their first on home soil and their third victory in the Rugby Championship.

Next week the teams have a bye but they will return to the Rugby Championship on the 10th of September when the All Blacks host Argentina in Hamilton and Australia host South Africa in Brisbane.

More to follow.

After a scoreless opening 20, Elton Jantjies kicked a penalty over to give the Springboks an initial three-point lead.

Nevertheless, Nicolas Sanchez put the Pumas ahead with two three-pointers before converting Joaquín Tuculet’s try to give the hosts a 13-3 lead at the break. Argentina looked the much better side in the opening 40 and could have had a few more tries.


Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Facundo Isa, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (c), 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro
Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Felipe Arregui, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Javier Ortega Desio, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Lucas González Amorosino

South Africa: 15 Johan Goosen, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Jaco Kriel, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Morne Steyn, 23 Jesse Kriel

Date: Saturday 27 August 2016
Venue: Estadio Ernesto Martearena Stadium, Salta
Kick-Off: 16:40 local (19:40 GMT)
Referee: Jerome Garces (France)
Assistant Referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia


Download IOS   Download Android