Aviva Premiership Announce Award Winners and Dream Team - Ruck

Aviva Premiership Announce Award Winners and Dream Team

Jimmy Gopperth last night completed an incredible hat-trick of rugby awards as he was named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season.

The Wasps star had already won his club’s Player of the Season title before lifting the Rugby Players’ Association gong ahead of Premiership Rugby’s annual ceremony at the Lancaster London Hotel.

The Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season wasn’t the only award Gopperth picked up the star-studded Awards Ceremony as his sensational score against Northampton Saints in Round Four was selected as the Citizen Try of the Season.

And Gopperth wasn’t done there as his season haul of 221 points with the boot saw him secure a hat-trick of awards on the night as he picked up the Gilbert Golden Boot Award.

Meanwhile, the Land Rover Discovery of the Season was more closely fought than ever before, with Leicester Tigers’ prop Ellis Genge emerging triumphant.

  • Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season: Jimmy Gopperth
  • Gilbert Golden Boot Award: Jimmy Gopperth
  • Citizen Try of the Season: Jimmy Gopperth
  • Trivento Top Try-Scorer Award: Christian Wade
  • Director of Rugby of the Season: Dai Young
  • Community Player of the Season: Chris Pennell
  • Land Rover Discovery of the Season: Ellis Genge
  • Women’s Premiership Players’ Player of the Year: Harriet Millar-Mills
  • Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Player of the Tournament: Sam Simmonds

To round off the night master of ceremonies Craig Doyle announced the Dream Team honouring 15 players from six different clubs, with Saracens the best represented with five stars named.

The Premiership team of the season: 15 Telusa Veainu – Leicester Tigers, 14 Christian Wade – Wasps, 13 Elliot Daly – Wasps, 12 Brad Barritt – Saracens (c), 11 Olly Woodburn – Exeter Chiefs, 10 Jimmy Gopperth – Wasps, 9 Richard Wigglesworth – Saracens, 8 Louis Picamoles – Northampton Saints, 7 Jackson Wray – Saracens, 6 Don Armand – Exeter Chiefs, 5 Courtney Lawes – Northampton Saints 4 Joe Launchbury – Wasps, 3 Kyle Sinckler – Harlequins, 2 Jamie George – Saracens 1 Mako Vunipola – Saracens
%d bloggers like this: