Fiji 47-15 Uruguay

Fiji 47-15 Uruguay: Flying Fijians end their tournament on high while South Americans touch down their first Rugby World Cup tries since 2003

  • Fiji secure the bonus-point before half-time
  • The South Americans touched down twice, which were their first World Cup tries since 2003
  • Uruguay scrum-half Agustín Ormaechea touches down before seeing red for second yellow offence
  • Man-mountain Nemani Nadolo finishes off the try scoring for Fiji with their seventh and final score
  • The Flying Fijians are now likely to finish fourth in Pool while loss means Uruguay finish bottom 

Following three successive defeats, Fiji overcame Uruguay 47-15 to end their Rugby World Cup on a high in Milton Keynes on Tuesday night. The South Americans did though cross the whitewash twice, which were their first scores at a final’s since 2003.

The flying Fijians scored seven tries in total in front of a stadium record crowd of 30,048 at Stadium MK. They were awarded two penalty tries in the first half with Nemia Kenatale and Leone Nakarawa also going over to secure the bonus point before the break. After half-time further scores from Tevita Cavubati, Kini Murimurivalu and Nemani Nadolo give Fiji a compromising win.

Uruguay, who were the only nation to have not crossed the whitewash at this year’s competition, touched down two tries of their own through Carlos Arboleya and scrum-half Agustin Ormaechea before the number 9 was later dismissed for a second yellow offence.

The South Americans next travel to Manchester for their final pool match against hosts England, who have also already been eliminated from the tournament following their loss to Australia at the weekend.

Fiji: Kini Murimurivalu, Asaeli Tikoirotuma, Vereniki Goneva, Lepani Botia, Nemani Nadolo, Ben Volavola, Nemia Kenatale; Campese Ma’afu, Sunia Koto, Leroy Atalifo, Apisalome Ratuniyarawa, Leone Nakarawa, Dominiko Waqaniburotu, Akapusi Qera (capt), Sakiusa Matadigo.

Replacements: Wiliame Veikoso, Peni Ravai, Taniela Koroi, Tevita Cavubati, Netani Talei, Henry Seniloli, Josh Matavesi, Timoci Nagusa.

Uruguay: Gaston Mieres, Santiago Gibernau, Joaquin Prada, Andres Vilaseca, Rodrigo Silva, Alejo Duran, Agustin Ormaechea; Alejo Corral, Carlos Arboleya, Mario Sagario, Santiago Vilaseca (capt), Jorge Zerbino, Juan Manuel Gaminara, Matias Beer, Alejandro Nieto.
Replacements: German Kessler, Oscar Duran, Mateo Sanguinetti, Mathias Palomeque, Franco Lamanna, Juan De Freitas, Jeronimo Etcheverry, Francisco Bulanti



%d bloggers like this: