Gloucester Rugby name side for European Rugby Challenge Cup Final

Gloucester Rugby name side for European Rugby Challenge Cup Final

Gloucester Rugby makes six changes to the line-up that started against Exeter Chiefs last weekend as they name their side to face Stade Francais in Friday’s European Rugby Challenge Cup Final.

There are three changes to the backline and three in the pack as Gloucester seek to win the trophy they last won back in 2015 and qualify for the play-offs for the final spot in next season’s Champions Cup.


In the back line, Billy Burns and Tom Marshall both return from injury and Willi Heinz replaces Greig Laidlaw at scrum-half and will skipper the side. Meanwhile, Matt Scott will return to Murrayfield, a stadium he knows well, having represented both Edinburgh and Scotland there.

Up front, Josh Hohneck comes in for Paddy McAllister and Jeremy Thrush replaces Mariano Galarza. Finally, Ross Moriarty returns in the back row having sat out the Exeter game and will line up alongside Lewis Ludlow and Ben Morgan.

Gloucester Rugby: Tom Marshall; Charlie Sharples, Matt Scott, Mark Atkinson, Jonny May; Billy Burns, Willi Heinz (c); Josh Hohneck, Richard Hibbard, John Afoa, Tom Savage, Jeremy Thrush, Ross Moriarty, Lewis Ludlow, Ben Morgan
Replacements: Darren Dawidiuk, Yann Thomas, Paddy McAllister, Mariano Galarza, Freddie Clarke, Greig Laidlaw, Billy Twelvetrees, Henry Trinder
Stade Français Paris: Hugo Bonneval; Waisea Vuidarvuwalu, Geoffrey Doumayrou, Jonathan Danty, Djibril Camara; Jules Plisson, Will Genia; Heinke Van der Merwe, Remi Bonfils, Rabah Slimani, Hugh Pyle, Paul Gabrillagues, Antoine Burban, Jonathan Ross, Sergio Parisse (c)
Replacements: Laurent Panis, Zurabi Zhvania, Paul Alo Emile, Willem Alberts, Raphael Lakafia, Julien Dupuy, Morné Steyn, Jérémy Sinzelle
Friday, 12 May
Kick off: 20:00
BT Murrayfield Stadium
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland), Assistant ref: Andrew Brace (Ireland), Assistant ref: Ben Whitehouse (Wales), TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland), Citing Commissioner: John Montgomery (Scotland)