Ireland team to play France: 2024 Guinness Six Nations - Ruck

Ireland team to play France: 2024 Guinness Six Nations

Andy Farrell has named his Ireland team to play France as the defending champions kick off their 2024 Six Nations in Marseille.

RUCK’s 2024 Guinness Six Nations content powered by ISUZU.

Peter O’Mahony captains Ireland for the Round 1 clash at Stade Velodrome, with a number of players in line for their Championship debuts in green.

Joe McCarthy has been named to start in the second row alongside Tadhg Beirne, while Calvin Nash lines up on the right wing having made his Test debut against Italy in last summer’s Bank of Ireland Nations Series.

Nash is part of the back three alongside Hugo Keenan, who plays at full-back, and James Lowe on the left. In the Ireland midfield, Bundee Aki partners Robbie Henshaw.

In the half-back positions, Jamison Gibson-Park starts at nine, while Jack Crowley takes the out-half spot, making his first Six Nations start.

The front row features Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan, and Tadhg Furlong, with McCarthy earning his sixth cap in the engine room alongside Beirne. Captain O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier, and Caelan Doris complete the starting team.

Coach Farrell has chosen a six-two split on the replacements bench, with Ronan Kelleher, the returning Cian Healy, Finlay Bealham, James Ryan, Ryan Baird, and Jack Conan providing reinforcements in the pack. Conor Murray and Ciaran Frawley, set for his first Championship appearance, are the backline options.

France v Ireland match odds

France win: 4/7

Ireland win: 13/8

Draw: 22/1

Join our Breaking News and Top Stories WhatsApp community for all the latest news direct to your phone.

Ireland team to play France:

15. Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster)(36)

14. Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster)(1)

13. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster)(67)

12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht)(52)

11. James Lowe (Leinster)(26)

10. Jack Crowley (Cork Constitution/Munster)(9)

9. Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster)(30)

1. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)(59)

2. Dan Sheehan (Lansdowne/Leinster)(21)

3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)(72)

4. Joe McCarthy (Dublin University/Leinster)(5)

5. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster)(46)

6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)(captain)(101)

7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)(57)

8. Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)(36)


16. Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster)(26)

17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)(125)

18. Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht)(36)

19. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster)(59)

20. Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)(15)

21. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)(41)

22. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)(112)

23. Ciaran Frawley (UCD/Leinster)(1).

Statement: Three laws changes confirmed for the 2024 Six Nations

1. The Shot Clock: A New Tempo for Conversions and Penalties

One of the most noteworthy modifications is the introduction of the shot clock, designed to ramp up the pace of the game and eliminate time-wasting tactics.

Teams will now face the pressure of time constraints, with a mere 90 seconds allotted for taking a conversion after scoring a try.

The urgency intensifies during penalty kicks, where teams have just 60 seconds to execute. In addition, the shot clock imposes stricter time limits on lineouts and scrums, reducing their duration to a brisk 30 seconds. Furthermore, the ball must now be released from the ruck within a mere 5 seconds, ensuring a faster and more dynamic flow to the game.