Leicester 47-7 Treviso: Tigers secure place in the Champions Cup quarter-finals with dominant seven-try win - Ruck

Leicester 47-7 Treviso: Tigers secure place in the Champions Cup quarter-finals with dominant seven-try win

  • Leicester reaches the quarter-finals of the Champions Cup after a 47-7 victory over Treviso
  • A penalty try plus scores from Mike Fitzgerald, Vereniki Goneva and Adam Thompstone gave the Tigers a 28-7 lead at the break
  • Scores from Ben Youngs, Freddie Burns and Lawrence Pearxe in the second half wrapped up the convincing victory
Freddie Burns provided the creativity and scored 15 points as Leicester stormed into the quarter-finals of the Champions Cup with a 47-7 victory over Treviso that guarantees home advantage in the next round.

On a full day of European action, the Tigers, who have been flying high similar to their footballing cousins, were in charge from the start with a no-hold bars performance having them wrap up with bonus point by half-time.

A penalty try added to scores from Mike Fitzgerald, Vereniki Goneva and Adam Thompstone, all converted by the nerveless Burns had given Leicester a 28-7 lead after the opening 40. Treviso meanwhile had one try to show for their efforts with Andrea Pratichetti crashing over.

Leicester continued to dominate proceedings after the restart with Ben Youngs, Burns and replacement Lawrence Pearce crashing over to complete the convincing victory.


The host started the game at a high tempo and got their reward as the Tigers opened the try-scoring after just two minutes as Tait found Manu Tuilagi, who slipped it to Fitzgerald and the big man ran in for the score. Burns then added the conversion to give the hosts an early seven-point lead.

Leicester was then awarded a penalty try after 10 minutes as the Tigers pack got their shove on at scrum-time and Burns kicked the conversion from in front of the sticks, 14-0.

Try number three came just shy of the half-hour as Burns delightful chip bounced into the arms of Goneva, who stormed over the whitewash to dot down for the five points.  The number 10 then added the extras to give the hosts a 21-point lead.

Treviso though took advantage of some poor defending from Leicester with Pratichetti going over after a simple, well-executed line-out move. Ambrosini then snuck the conversion over the bar from in front of the posts, 21-7.

Thompstone then dived into the sand and over the line for the Tigers’ bonus point try. A storming run from Munipola gives Leicester the go-forward before Thompstone made the most of some Treviso indecision to score.

Burns then obliged with the extra two points to give Leicester a 28-7 lead at the break.

Tigers began the second half as they ended the first with Ben Youngs showing his savviness as he caught everyone unaware as he got hold of the quick lineout after spotting the space from miles back and raced away to score. Even the referee Ben Whitehouse was caught napping from the quick-thinking of the scrum-half.

Burns though this time pushed the conversion from the touchline wide, 33-7.

The fly-half though was next to cross the whitewash, touching down try number six. There looked to be nothing on for the home side, but Burns slid the ball along the ground before pouncing on it to score.

He then added the extras to put Leicester well clear, 40-7.

The Tigers then continued to apply the pressure with the Treviso scrum buckling under the sheer pressure from the hosts, with Simone Ferrari sent to the bin for 10 minutes.

With the man advantage, Pearce went over to score try number seven for the hosts and Tommy Bell made no mistake with the conversion to complete the scoring, 47-7.

Leicester Tigers: Freddie Burns

Leicester: 15 Tommy Bell, 14 Adam Thompstone, 13 Mathew Tait, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Vereniki Goneva, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Jordan Crane, 7 Tom Croft, 6 Mike Fitzgerald, 5 Graham Kitchener, 4 Dom Barrow, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Tom Youngs (c), 1 Logovi’i Mulipola
Replacements: 16 Harry Thacker, 17 Marcos Ayerza , 18 Fraser Balmain, 19 Sebastian de Chaves, 20 Laurence Pearce, 21 Jono Kitto, 22 Seremaia Bai, 23 Peter Betham

Treviso: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Andrea Pratichetti, 13 Samuel Christie, 12 Alberto Sgarbi, 11 Simone Ragusi, 10 James Ambrosini, 9 Alberto Lucchese, 8 Robert Barbieri, 7 Francesco Minto, 6 Marco Lazzaroni, 5 Jean-François Montauriol, 4 Filo Paulo, 3 Salesi Manu, 2 Ornel Gega, 1 Alberto de Marchi
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Cherif Traore, 18 Filippo Filippetto, 19 Marco Fuser, 20 Alessandro Zanni, 21 Abraham Jurgens Steyn, 22 Enrico Bacchin, 23 Luke McLean

Date: Saturday, January 16
Venue: Welford Road
Kick-off: 19:45 GMT
Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Sean Brickell (Wales), Gwyn Morris (Wales)
TMO: Derek Bevan (Wales)


%d bloggers like this: