Match Report: England 37-21 South Africa

Match Report: England 37-21 South Africa – Eddie Jones’ men sink Springboks to stay unbeaten

  • Eddie Jones’ men hosted Allister Coetzee’s Springboks in their opening Autumn international
  • England took a 20-9 lead into half-time at Twickenham in South-West London
  • Jonny May and Courtney Lawes scored England’s converted tries in the first period
  • George Ford and Owen Farrell crossed the whitewash after the restart to secure the victory
England maintained their one hundred per cent record under Eddie Jones by overcoming South Africa for the first time since 2006 in an extremely physical encounter at Twickenham.

Not in 12 matches stretching back a decade had England beaten the Springboks, but after a Grand Slam in spring and whitewash of Australia in summer, the autumn has begun with more history being made.

Jones, who famously led Japan to a 34-32 triumph against the Springboks during last year’s Rugby World Cup, saw his side play with real intensity with Owen Farrell, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes and George Ford particularly impressing.

The hosts didn’t have it all their own way, conceding a high number of penalties in the opening 40, but tries from May and Lawes, who was winning his 50th cap, combined with the boots of Farrell and Daly meant England went into the break with a healthy 20-9 lead.

Johan Goosen did hit back for South Africa in the second half, however the result looked settled by then as Ford and Farrell touched down either side of his effort.

Willie Le Roux crossed in the corner for the Boks late on, but it meant little as Jones’ men celebrated yet another convincing victory,

This was England’s tenth straight win this year, and they remain unbeaten ahead of the visit of Fiji to Twickenham next weekend.


England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Jonny May, 10 George Ford, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Tom Wood, 6 Chris Robshaw, 5 Courtney Lawes, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Mako Vunipola
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 Dave Attwood, 20 Nathan Hughes, 21 Danny Care, 22 Ben Te’o, 23 Jonathan Joseph
South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Willem Alberts, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Franco Mostert, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Johan Goosen, 23 Lionel Mapoe


Download IOS   Download Android