Saracens and England lock Maro Itoje on Premiership Player of the Season shortlist

  • Saracens and England lock Maro Itoje is on a six-man shortlist for the Premiership Player of the Season award
  • The 21-year-old was named European Player of the Year after Saturday’s Champions Cup final win
  • Itoje is joined by Sarries team-mate Alex Goode on the shortlist
Young sensation Maro Itoje, fresh off claiming his European Player of the Year award, has been nominated on a six-man shortlist for Premiership Player of the Year. 

The young lock received his latest accolade following Saracens 21-9 victory against Racing 92 in the Champions Cup final last weekend. Itoje was also a key part of Eddie Jones’ England securing a first Six Nations Grand Slam since 2003 earlier this year.

Saracens teammate Alex Goode is also nominated for the award following a superb season at fullback for the London club.

They are joined by Exeter Chiefs duo Don Armand and Gareth Steenson while Wasps pair Charles Piutau and George Smith are also nominated.

Sarries director of rugby Mark McCall is also on a four-man shortlist for the Premiership Director of Rugby of the Season award. He is joined by Exeter’s Rob Baxter, Sale’s Steve Diamond, and Wasps Dai Young.

The winners will be announced on Wednesday 18 May at the sold out Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards at the Hilton, Park Lane.
Past winners
2014-15: George Ford (Bath Rugby)
2013-14: Mike Brown (Harlequins)
2012-13: Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
2011-12: Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
2010-11: Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
2009-10: Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
2008-09: Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
2007-08: James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester Rugby)
2006-07: Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers)
2005-06: Mike Catt (London Irish)
2004-05: Martin Corry (Leicester Tigers)
%d bloggers like this: