Scotland vs Japan player ratings: Autumn Nations Series - Ruck

Scotland vs Japan player ratings: Autumn Nations Series

Scotland vs Japan player ratings as Gregor Townsend’s men concluded their Autumn Nations Series with a four try victory at Murrayfield.

The victory added to successes over Tonga and Australia, as the Scots followed up defeat by world champions South Africa with this unconvincing win over their troublesome visitors.

Powerhouse wing Duhan van de Merwe was the first to touch down early on, but two penalties from Rikiya Matsuda gave the Brave Blossoms an unexpected 5-6 lead with 25 minutes on the clock.

However, tries from Stuart Hogg and Darcy Graham, both converted by Finn Russell, gave the Scots a healthy 19-6 lead at the break.

The Scotland captains try saw him move clear as his countries all-time top try-scorer on 25 from his 88 caps.

Replacement hooker Stuart McInally scored the home sides fourth after the restart before Japan made a game of it late on as Tevita Tatafu’s try and two more penalties from Matsuda reduced the deficit to six points, 26-20.

Nevertheless, Russell put the game beyond doubt late on with another penalty.

Scroll down for Scotland vs Japan player ratings:

SCOTLAND (19): 29

  • Tries: van de Merwe 5, Hogg 27, Graham 40, McInally 54
  • Cons: Russell 28,40,55
  • Pens: Russell 79

JAPAN (6): 17

  • Tries: Tatafu 63
  • Cons:
  • Pens: Matsuda 10,25,42,46



  • Most carries: Chris Harris – 8
  • Most metres made: Stuart Hogg – 104
  • Most tackles: Grant Gilchrist – 17
  • Most tackles missed: Darcy Graham – 5
  • Offloads: Sam Johnson – 3
  • Turnovers won: Zander Fagerson – 1
  • Turnovers conceded: Finn Russell – 1

Scotland vs Japan player ratings

Scotland: Stuart Hogg (captain) 7; Darcy Graham 6, Chris Harris 8, Sam Johnson 7, Duhan van der Merwe 6; Finn Russell 6, Ali Price 5; Jamie Bhatti 5, George Turner 6, Zander Fagerson 6, Scott Cummings 6, Grant Gilchrist 8, Jamie Ritchie 6, Hamish Watson 6, Josh Bayliss 7.

Japan: Ryohei Yamanaka 6; Kotaro Matsushima 8, Shogo Nakano 6, Ryoto Nakamura 6, Siosaia Fifita 6; Rikiya Matsuda 7, Yutaka Nagare 7; Craig Millar 6, Atsushi Sakate 6, Asaeli Ai Valu 6, Jack Cornelsen 7, James Moore 7, Michael Leitch 8, Pieter Labuschagné (captain) 6, Kazuki Himeno 6.


%d bloggers like this: