Squad Update: England retain 27 players for France clash - Ruck

Squad Update: England retain 27 players for France clash

England head coach Eddie Jones has retained 27 players as the squad continue preparations ahead of their next NatWest 6 Nations match against France in Paris (Saturday 10 March 4:45pm KO).

Jones’ side head into the fixture with two wins and a loss from their opening three matches as they sit second in the NatWest 6 Nations table behind Ireland.

Flanker Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby) and wing Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs) have both returned to their clubs following injuries.

Hooker Dylan Hartley and prop Harry Williams both have muscle tightness so will be monitored in the lead up to the fixture.

The group includes fit again Elliot Daly while Denny Solomona, Kyle Sinckler and Luke Cowan-Dickie are all included.

“We’ve got a couple of knocks and players have returned to their clubs,” said England forwards coach Steve Borthwick.

“Jack Nowell has rolled his ankle that he injured previously earlier on this season and returned to the club this morning for further investigation.


“In addition to that Sam Underhill has injured his big toe so he won’t be in contention for selection this week as that has flared up, so Sam has returned to his club.

“In addition to that, we’ve got a couple of guys who have some muscle tightness so Dylan Hartley in the leg and Harry Williams in his neck. So what that has meant is Luke Cowan-Dickie was called up yesterday and trained with the squad fully this morning and Kyle Sinckler is in the squad as he was last week in Oxford.

“Both Dylan and Harry will be monitored on a daily basis and see how that develops.”


Mike Brown (Harlequins)

Danny Care (Harlequins)

Elliot Daly (Wasps)

Owen Farrell (Saracens)

George Ford (Leicester Tigers)

Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)

Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)

Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks)

Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)

Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)


Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)

Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)

Jamie George (Saracens)

Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)

James Haskell (Wasps)

Nathan Hughes (Wasps)

Maro Itoje (Saracens)

George Kruis (Saracens)

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

Joe Launchbury (Wasps)

Joe Marler (Harlequins)

Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)

Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)

Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs)