The 12 original Premiership teams: Where are they now?


Position: Third (30 points).
Current division: Premiership

Quins have been a mainstay of the top flight, spending a solitary season in the Championship in 2005/06, but have somewhat surprisingly despite their financial backing and ideal location have won just one league title (2011/12).

The current club captains are James Horwill and Chris Robshaw while the current Head of Rugby is former England defence coach Paul Gustard, with Billy Millard acting as the Club’s General Manager.


Position: Ninth (23 points).
Current division: Premiership


Position: Eighth (24 points).
Current division: Championship.

They ended Bath’s astonishing run of 22 unbeaten cup matches in 1988, winning 4–3. The team’s relegation from the top division at the end of the 1990–1991 season marked a consolidation period for the club after their fantastic times of the 1970s.

On 30 January 1998, the club went into administration, after overstretching its financial resources in the early years of professional rugby union. They fell as low as National League 2 North.

The club is now in National League One after being relegated from the Championship.

DID YOU KNOW: In 2017, the club was renamed Birmingham Moseley Rugby Club.

%d bloggers like this: