Tiernan O'Halloran starts for Ireland in South Africa series decider - Ruck

Tiernan O’Halloran starts for Ireland in South Africa series decider

  • Tiernan O’Halloran will replace the injured Jared Payne at full-back for Ireland’s series decider against South Africa
  • Joe Schmidt has made five changes and one positional switch to the team that suffered a dramatic late collapse at Ellis Park,
Tiernan O’Halloran has been named at full-back in place of Jared Payne for Ireland’s Test with South Africa in Port Elizabeth.

Rory Best will captains the side and is re-joined in the front row by Mike Ross and Jack McGrath.

Devin Toner and Iain Henderson reunite in the second row with Jordi Murphy and CJ Stander returning to the back row to link up with Jamie Heaslip at number eight.

Conor Murray, who wins his 50th cap, continues his partnership with Paddy Jackson at half-back while Luke Marshall returns to the side and switches to outside centre with Stuart Olding retaining the number 12 jersey.

O’Halloran is named at full-back with Andrew Trimble and Keith Earls on the wings.

The replacements named are Sean Cronin, Finlay Bealham, Tadhg Furlong, Ultan Dillane, Rhys Ruddock, Eoin Reddan, Ian Madigan and Matt Healy.

Ireland: 15 Tiernan O’Halloran, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Stuart Olding, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Rhys Ruddock, 6 CJ Stander, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best (c), 1 Jack McGrath
Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Finlay Bealham, 18 Tadhg Furlong, 19 Ultan Dillane, 20 Rhys Ruddock, 21 Eoin Reddan, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Matt Healy

Date: Saturday, June 25
Venue: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadiumn, Port Elizabeth
Kick-off: 17:00 local (15:00 GMT)
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Angus Gardner (Australia), Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (England)


%d bloggers like this: