U20 Six Nations: Ireland 10-14 England - Under 20s secure Grand Slam triumph - Ruck

U20 Six Nations: Ireland 10-14 England – Under 20s secure Grand Slam triumph

  • England U20s have claimed a Grand Slam after beating Ireland
  • They had already been crowned 2017 U20s Six Nations champion
  • Tries from Jack Nay and Henry Walker was enough to qin
England Under 20s completed their Six Nations Grand Slam as they overcame Ireland 14-10 in front of an onlooking Joe Schmidt. 

The reigning world champions finished the tournament with 27 out of a possible 28 points.


After a tense opening, Saracens second-row Jack Nay finished off a close range rolling maul for England with clubmate Max Malins converting, 0-7.

After a long period of pressure, fly-half Bill Johnston got the Ireland on the board with a well-struck penalty after 39 minutes.

Nevertheless, in first half overtime Gloucester hooker Henry Walker went in under the posts on his England U20 debut.

Fly-half Malins again slotted the conversion to push England 14-3 ahead at the break.

Replacement Gavin Coombes forced his way over for Ireland after the restart with Johnston converting to set up a grandstand finish but England held on, 10-14.


Ireland: 15 Jordan Larmour, 14 Tommy O’Brien, 13 Gavin Mullin 12 Ciaran Frawley, 11 Calvin Nash(c), 10 Bill Johnston, 9 Jonny Stewart, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Paul Boyle, 6 John Foley, 5 Oisin Dowling, 4 Fineen Wycherley, 3 Charlie Connolly, 2 Tadgh McElroy, 1 Joey Conway
Replacements: 16 Ronan Kelleher, 17 Greg McGrath, 18 Matthew Burke, 19 Jack Regan, 20 Gavin Coombes, 21 Jack Stafford, 22 Conor Fitzgerald, 23 Colm Hogan
England: 15 Tom Parton, 14 Joe Cokanasiga, 13 Dominic Morris, 12 Will Butler, 11 Sam Aspland-Robinson, 10 Max Malins, 9 Harry Randall, 8 Zach Mercer (c), 7 Ben Curry, 6 Tom Curry, 5 Nick Isiekwe, 4 Jack Nay, 3 Ciaran Knight, 2 Henry Walker, 1 Ollie Dawe
Replacements: 16 Jamie Blamire, 17 Ralph Adams-Hale, 18 Joseph Morris, 19 Justin Clegg, 20 Josh Bayliss, 21 Alex Mitchell, 22 Theo Brophy Clews, 23 Max Wright
Venue: Donnybrook
Kick-off: 18:00pm
Referee: Pierre Brousset (France)
Assistant Referees: Tual Trainini (France), Stéphane Boyer (France)
TMO: Arnaud Blondel (France)
%d bloggers like this: