Women's Six Nations: Ireland 7-34 England: Red Roses romp to historic Grand Slam

Women’s Six Nations: Ireland 7-34 England: Red Roses romp to historic Grand Slam

England women powered to an emphatic bonus-point victory against Ireland, winning the Women’s Six Nations Grand Slam in the process.

They went ahead through an unconverted first-half try from Amy Wilson-Hardy, which they held until half-time, 0-5.

Another unconverted try after the break, this time from Laura Keates on her 60th cap, doubled the visitor’s advantage.

Emily Scarratt then slotted a penalty for England as Ireland’s Mairead Coyne is sent to the sin bin, 0-13.

With the man advantage, hooker Amy Cokayne broke clear and scored the Red Rose’s third with Scarratt then converting to pass 350 points in an England shirt, 0-20.

Ireland fought back through captain Leah Lyons but Scarratt responded almost instantly to secure the away side the bonus-point before converting herself.

Replacement winger Lydia Thompson then showed some lovely footwork to get in for England’s fifth, securing the Grand Slam in the process. Scarratt again added the extras to complete the scoring, 7-34.


IRELAND WOMEN: Kim Flood (Railway Union/Leinster); Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Sene Naoupu (Aylesford Bulls), Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht); Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union); Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster), Leah Lyons (Highfield/Munster), Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster), Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht), Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s/Leinster) (capt).
Replacements: Ciara O’Connor (Galwegians/Connacht), Ilse van Staden (Cooke/Ulster), Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht), Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster), Nichola Fryday (Tullamore/Connacht), Mary Healy (Galwegians/Connacht), Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/Ulster), Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/Connacht).
ENGLAND WOMEN: Danielle Waterman (Bristol); Amy Wilson Hardy (Bristol), Emily Scarratt (Lichfield), Amber Reed (Bristol), Kay Wilson (Richmond); Emily Scott (Saracens), La Toya Mason (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks); Rochelle Clark (Worcester Valkyries), Amy Cokayne (Lichfield), Justine Lucas (Lichfield), Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield), Alex Matthews (Richmond), Marlie Packer (Bristol), Sarah Hunter (Bristol) (capt).
Replacements: Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens), Vickii Cornborough (Aylesford Bulls), Laura Keates (Worcester Valkyries), Poppy Cleall (Bristol), Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol), Bianca Blackburn (Worcester Valkyries), Rachael Burford (Aylesford Bulls), Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries).
%d bloggers like this: