Vereniki Goneva named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month - Ruck

Vereniki Goneva named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month

Vereniki Goneva has today been named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month for April 2018.

The powerhouse has been in stellar form for the Falcons as they claimed their first Aviva Premiership Rugby semi-final place in their history and he climbed to the top of the League’s scoring charts alongside Josh Adams.

And Rugby World Cup winner Will Greenwood said: “What an extraordinary player he is. Goneva is built like a man mountain and yet with nimble feet and soft hands.

“Everyone knows about him in the wide channels; a genuine flyer to add to his frame and awesome finisher given half a yard. But there are times when I see him like a back row forward in and around the fringes, and lethal from five yards out when it is supposed to be forwards territory.”
Goneva was judged by a panel of experts as the player who made the biggest impact in the League over the month April. He was involved in a three-way battle for the latest title, eventually beating Wasps’ full-back Willie Le Roux and Gloucester Rugby full-back Jason Woodward to the title.

And Greenwood added: “It’s clear he offers the Falcons a bit of everything. He’s lethal in attack but is also a brilliant defender, drifting or blitzing – he reads situations so well, and always wins the contact. He is also getting better – he has removed the looseness of his play, and it is pretty clear any team with Goneva in would finish top six.”

Goneva was voted for by a panel of media professionals based on his performances in April – Nick Mullins (BT Sport), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Mick Cleary (The Daily Telegraph), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), Jonny Fordham (The Sun), Jill Douglas (ITV Sport), Chris Jones (BBC 5 Live), David Rogers (Getty Images) and Tom Hamilton (ESPN). The panel was chaired by Paul Morgan, Premiership Rugby’s Communications Director.

Goneva wins a trophy and a £250 donation to the charity of his choice.

Winners in the 2017-18 season
April – Vereniki Goneva (Newcastle Falcons)
March – Joe Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
February – Jack Willis (Wasps)
December – Josh Adams (Worcester Warriors)
November – Ruan Ackermann (Gloucester Rugby)
October – Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
September – Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Winners in the 2016-17 season
April – Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby)
March – Christian Wade (Wasps)
February – James Short (Exeter Chiefs)
December – Tom Varndell (Bristol Rugby)
November – Freddie Burns (Leicester Tigers)
October – Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
September – Jimmy Gopperth (Wasps)
Winners in the 2015-16 season
October – Nick Evans (Harlequins)
November – Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
December – Maro Itoje (Saracens)
January – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)
February – George Smith (Wasps)
March – Francois Hougaard (Worcester Warriors)
April – Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints)
Winners in the 2014-15 season
September – Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)
October – Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)
November – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)
December – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)
January – Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
February – Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
March – Elliot Daly (Wasps)
April – Joe Simpson (Wasps)
Winners in the 2013-14 season
September – Jacques Burger (Saracens)
October – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)
November – George Ford (Bath Rugby)
December – Nick Easter (Harlequins)
January – Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
February – Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers)
March – Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)
April – Chris Ashton (Saracens)
%d bloggers like this: