Champions Cup: Glasgow 12-14 Munster

Champions Cup: Glasgow 12-14 Munster – Late Saili try sees Munster progress

  • Munster are into the quarter-finals after edging past Glasgow
  • It was all square at the break, 6-6 after a well-contested opening 40
  • Francis Saili’s second-half try was the crucial score as Munster triumphed
Munster booked their place in the Champions Cup quarter-finals after they beat Glasgow Warriors 14-12 at Scotstoun on Saturday.

The Irish province had won four of their five previous games against Scottish opponents in the Champions Cup.

But there was little to separate the two sides after a well-contested first period as two penalties from Munster fly-half Tyler Bleyendaal cancelled out efforts from Finn Russell and Stuart Hogg, 6-6.

Bleyendall and Russell exchanged kicks again after the break before the Scotsman edged the hosts in front, 12-9.

But Stuart Hogg’s yellow card, for a high tackle in stopping Andrew Conway from scoring, saw Munster capitalise as Frances Saili powered over in the corner.

Bleyendaal missed the conversion but it mattered little as Munster went on to win, booking a last-eight spot.

Glasgow, meanwhile, will need to win their final game at Leicester next Saturday to retain hope of qualifying as one of the three best runners-up.

Embed from Getty Images


Glasgow Warriors: Tim Swinson


Glasgow: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Lee Jones, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Ryan Wilson, 6 Rob Harley, 5 Jonny Gray (c), 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Gordon Reid
Replacements: 16 Pat MacArthur, 17 Alex Allan, 18 D’arcy Rae, 19 Matt Fagerson, 20 Chris Fusaro, 21 Grayson Hart, 22 Nick Grigg, 23 Peter Murchie
Munster: 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Jack O’Donoghue, 6 Peter O’Mahony (c), 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 John Ryan, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Dave Kilcoyne
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 James Cronin, 18 Thomas Du Toit, 19 Dave Foley, 20 Billy Holland, 21 Duncan Williams, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Francis Saili
%d bloggers like this: