Eddie Jones names England team for South Africa Test

Eddie Jones names England team for first Test against South Africa

  • Elliot Daly will make his first England start against the Springboks on Saturday
  • Tom Wood returns to the back-row with Chris Robshaw and Billy Vunipola making up the trio
  • Joe Launchbury and Courtney Lawes form a new second row 
Wasps centre Elliot Daly makes his first international start when England host South Africa at Twickenham on Saturday.

The 24-year-old has won five caps as a replacement, but is now set outside-centre against the Springboks after Jonathan Joseph failed to prove his fitness following a minor groin strain injury. The Bath centre as a result drops to the replacements with the speedy and elusive Daly forming a new midfield partnership with Owen Farrell.

Joseph started all three Tests in England’s series whitewash of Australia last summer, and it will be the first time he has been dropped since re-establishing himself during the 2016 Six Nations.

“We’ve picked a matchday 23 with a blend of experience and youth,” said Eddie Jones.


“We’ve trained well this week and I am pleased with how the players have come together and responded to some of the things we’ve asked them to do. The boys are focussed and ready to go.

“We’re looking forward to the game. It’s a fantastic opportunity to show how much depth we have in English rugby. With a few influential players not available for selection this is a great opportunity for some of the new faces to put both feet forward and we’re backing them to do the job for us.

“Test matches are always about the contest up front and South Africa pride themselves in the set piece but we’ll be ready for the challenge.”

England also face Fiji, Argentina and Australia in the series and Jones added: “We can’t wait to get back to Twickenham.

“It’s a very special stadium and we hope the crowd really gets behind us on Saturday. We want to make Twickenham an intimidating place for opposition teams to play rugby and the fans can contribute to that.”

England match-day 23 for the Old Mutual Wealth Series game against South Africa
15. Mike Brown (vice captain, Harlequins, 52 caps), 14. Marland Yarde (Harlequins, 9 caps), 13. Elliot Daly (Wasps, 5 caps), 12. Owen Farrell (vice captain, Saracens, 43 caps), 11. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 19 caps), 10. George Ford (Bath Rugby, 26 caps), 9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 61 caps), 1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 35 caps), 2. Dylan Hartley (captain, Northampton Saints, 75 caps), 3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 65 caps), 4. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 35 caps), 5. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 49 caps), 6. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 51 caps), 7. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 42 caps), 8. Billy Vunipola (vice captain, Saracens, 29 caps).
16. Jamie George (Saracens, 8 caps), 17. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 42 caps), 18. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, uncapped), 19. Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 23 caps), 20. Nathan Hughes (Wasps, uncapped), 21. Danny Care (Harlequins, 62 caps), 22. Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors, uncapped), 23. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 25 caps).
Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks) and Tommy Taylor (Wasps) are included in the squad as travelling reserves.


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: