England reveal team for Six Nations opener

England vs France: Maro Itoje named in the back-row as Eddie Jones names his team for Twickenham clash

  • Eddie Jones has named his team for their Six Nations opener
  • Maro Itoje starts in England’s back-row row for the first time
  • Jones’ men kick off their campaign against France on Saturday, 4:50pm kick-off
Eddie Jones has named a new-look England starting XV to face France in Saturday’s Six Nations opener at Twickenham.

There are five changes to the starting XV that defeated Australia at the end of last year to complete an unbeaten 2016.


Elliot Daly (Wasps) starts on the left wing with Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby) installed on the right. In the scrum Joe Marler (Harlequins) packs down at loose-head, Joe Launchbury (Wasps) is named in the second-row and Maro Itoje (Saracens) starts at blindside flanker making up a match-day XV totalling 595 caps.

“We’ve been able to select a very strong and experienced team to play against France and we are excited to get the tournament underway,” said England head coach Eddie Jones.

“There’s a great rivalry between the countries so we’re looking forward to a great occasion playing against one of England’s oldest foes.

England match-day 23 for the RBS 6 Nations game against France
15. Mike Brown (vice captain, Harlequins, 55 caps), 14. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 22 caps), 13. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 29 caps), 12. Owen Farrell (vice captain, Saracens, 47 caps), 11. Elliot Daly (Wasps, 8 caps), 10. George Ford (Bath Rugby, 30 caps), 9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 65 caps), 1. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 46 caps), 2. Dylan Hartley (captain, Northampton Saints, 79 caps), 3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 69 caps), 4. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 37 caps), 5. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 53 caps), 6. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 7 caps), 7. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 45 caps), 8. Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 3 caps).
16. Jamie George (Saracens, 12 caps), 17. Matt Mullan (Wasps, 13 caps), 18. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 4 caps), 19. Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints, 5 caps), 20. James Haskell (Wasps, 70 caps), 21. Danny Care (Harlequins, 66 caps), 22. Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors, 3 caps), 23. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 18 caps).


%d bloggers like this: