8 great players we can't believe have never won Premiership Player of the Month - Ruck

8 great players we can’t believe have never won Premiership Player of the Month

George Ford, Maro Itoje and, erm, Tom Varndell have scooped the top flight’s individual award. But none of these eight stars has. Ever…

The award was only established in 2013, so we’re only highlighting prominent players who have been in the division following then.

A full list of POTM winners can be found on page five:

1. Owen Farrell

Embed from Getty Images

The England fly-half has won three Premiership winners’ medals during his time with Saracens and was an instrumental part of the 2015/16 double-winning side. Farrell has also been nominated for World Player of the Year in 2016 and 2017.

But oddly, the England stalwart has never done enough to win a POTM award with fellow England playmakers Danny Cipriani and George Ford both having received the prize.

2. George North

Embed from Getty Images

The Welsh wing-wizard has scored 32 tries in 104 outings for Saints since his big-money move to Franklin’s Gardens from Scarlets in 2013.

A few injuries, chiefly concussions, mean he has missed quite a bit of action through injury, however, it’s still a surprise that the 25-year-old British & Irish Lion has never won a POTM.