Gregor Townsend confirms Scotland squad for the 2023 Rugby World Cup - Ruck

Gregor Townsend confirms Scotland squad for the 2023 Rugby World Cup

Head coach Gregor Townsend has today named his 33-player squad for the upcoming Rugby World Cup 2023, to be held in France from next month.

Captain Jamie Ritchie leads a selection comprising 19 forwards and 14 backs for a Pool B campaign that will see Scotland face South Africa, Tonga, Romania and Ireland.

Flanker Ritchie is one of 15 players to have appeared at a previous Rugby World Cup, with second rows Richie Gray and Grant Gilchrist, tighthead prop WP Nel, as well as stand-off Finn Russell, all set for a third such tournament experience. Back-row forward Jack Dempsey represented Australia in Japan four years ago.

The others to have featured at a Rugby World Cup, all in 2019, include forwards Zander Fagerson, (tighthead prop), George Turner (hooker), Scott Cummings (second row) and Hamish Watson (flanker); and backs Darcy Graham (wing), Chris Harris (centre), Blair Kinghorn (full-back), George Horne and Ali Price (both scrum-half).

Gray, one of seven players named with more than 50 Scotland appearances, is the most-capped member of the squad on 75, with veteran Nel the eldest at a still sprightly 37 years old.

At the other end of the experience spectrum, full-back Ollie Smith is the youngest in the squad having recently turned 23, with stand-off Ben Healy the least-capped with two.

The other players preparing for their Rugby World Cup debut are forwards Ewan Ashman, Dave Cherry (both hooker), Jamie Bhatti, Pierre Schoeman, Rory Sutherland (all loosehead prop), Javan Sebastian (tighthead prop), Sam Skinner (second row) and back-row trio Luke Crosbie, Rory Darge and Matt Fagerson.

Scrum-half Ben White, centres Huw Jones, Cameron Redpath and Sione Tuipulotu, and wingers Duhan van der Merwe and Kyle Steyn complete the selection.

The 33-strong group contains 14 players each from Edinburgh Rugby and Glasgow Warriors, with four Exiles (Harris, Redpath, Russell and White) and Rory Sutherland, unattached since recently leaving Ulster Rugby.



Ewan Ashman (Edinburgh Rugby) 8 caps
Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps
Dave Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby) 9 caps
Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) 5 caps
Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) 28 caps*
Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors) 10 caps
Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 11 caps
Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 35 caps
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 59 caps*
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) 64 caps**
Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 75 caps**
WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 55 caps**
Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – CAPTAIN – 42 caps*
Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 23 caps
Javan Sebastian (Edinburgh Rugby) 5 caps
Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby) 27 caps
Rory Sutherland (Unattached) 25 caps
George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 37 caps*
Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) 58 caps*


Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby) 35 caps*
Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 43 caps*
Ben Healy (Edinburgh Rugby) 2 caps
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 22 caps*
Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 38 caps
Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 46 caps*
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 63 caps*
Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) 7 caps
Finn Russell (Bath Rugby) 71 caps**
Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors) 5 caps
Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 12 caps
Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 18 caps
Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 30 caps
Ben White (RC Toulon) 15 caps

(* denotes past Rugby World Cup selection)