Three uncapped players make Eddie Jones’ matchday squad for Six Nations opener

  • England have released eight players back to their clubs after coach Eddie Jones retained a squad of 25
  • Jack Clifford, Ollie Devoto and Paul Hill could make their England debuts
  • Maro Itoje and Elliot Daly will travel to Murrayfield on Saturday as reserves
England have released eight players back to their clubs after coach Eddie Jones retained a squad of 25 for the Six Nations opener against Scotland at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Naming three uncapped players; Jack Clifford, Ollie Devoto and Paul Hill in his 23-man squad that shows 11 changes from the last meaningful match of the 2015 Rugby World Cup against Australia.

The trio offer something new, with Jones looking to develop an identity and engineer a style of rugby that suits the team, which is something his predecessor, Stuart Lancaster, struggled to do during his tenure.

Meanwhile, Saracens Maro Itoje and Wasps back Elliott Daly, who were both ommitted to play for their clubs last weekend, will also head to Scotland with the squad as a reserves.

Jones, who will name his team on Thursday, said he felt that Itoje still had elements of his game that needed work when he left him out initially.

However, the Australian was present at Allianz Park on Saturday to see Itoje once again pick up the man-of-the-match award as Sarries’ 19-13 win against Bath, describing it as his finest game for the Aviva Premiership champions.

Saturday’s clash against the old enemy will be the Aussie’s first in charge after taking over from Lancaster, who was sacked after the World Cup following England’s inadequate pool stage exit.

It will also be the first test for England’s new-look coaching team with Borthwick (forwards) and Paul Gustard (defence).


Backs: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Forwards: Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Jack Clifford (Harlequins), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Paul Hill (Northampton Saints), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens).


%d bloggers like this: