Rugby World Cup Winners - Full list of champions -

Rugby World Cup Winners

We take a quick look through the Rugby World Cup winners of the past eight tournaments.

Hosted once every four years, the Rugby World Cup is rugby’s centrepiece event. It is the big stage that rugby players from all over the world dream of reaching. 

Held over the course of seven weeks, it is the 3rd largest sports event in the world after the summer Olympics and the Football World Cup.

Check out all the latest Rugby World Cup news on RUCK!

Rugby World Cup Winners

  • 2019: South Africa
  • 2015: New Zealand
  • 2011: New Zealand
  • 2007: South Africa
  • 2003: England
  • 1999: Australia
  • 1995: South Africa
  • 1991: Australia
  • 1987: New Zealand
Rugby World Cup winners
New Zealand as Rugby World Cup winners in 2015

Who has won the Rugby World Cup most times?

In its short history, just four teams have emerged victorious in the Rugby World Cup.

Here the teams with the most Rugby World Cup titles since 1987.

  1. New Zealand – 3 times
  2. South Africa – 3
  3. Australia – 2
  4. England 1