Team News: Scotland make four changes for Australia test

Team News: Scotland make four changes for Australia test

Head Coach Gregor Townsend has made four changes to the Scotland team to start against Australia at BT Murrayfield Stadium this Saturday (25 November, kick-off 2.30pm) – live on BBC and BT Sport.

The match is the third and final Autumn Test at the national stadium to be played in front of a capacity, 67,144 crowd, with Townsend’s men keen to end the series in credit after an opening win over Samoa (44-38) and a narrow loss to World Champions New Zealand (22-17).

Townsend, said: “This is the third and final game of our autumn series and the players are looking forward to ending it on a high.

“Last weekend’s game was a proper Test match – intense, competitive and full of drama. Unfortunately, we just fell short of our goal, and were disappointed with the loss, but take confidence going into the game against Australia.”

Three of the changes appear in the pack, where Glasgow Warriors number 8 Ryan Wilson returns to start after missing the All Blacks match with a shoulder injury.

Edinburgh Rugby lock Grant Gilchrist starts his first match of the series alongside Jonny Gray, while tighthead prop Simon Berghan earns his first start for the national team in the front-row.

Recent squad addition Sean Maitland (Saracens) is the only change to an otherwise all-Glasgow Warriors backline.

He starts in place of wing Lee Jones – who misses out on the match-day 23 – to combine with Stuart Hogg and Tommy Seymour in the back-three, leaving an unchanged half-back pairing (Ali Price and Finn Russell) and midfield (Alex Dunbar and Huw Jones), providing Dunbar completes the graduated return-to-play protocol, having sustained a concussion last weekend.

Last week’s starting back-row Cornell du Preez, lock Ben Toolis and prop Zander Fagerson move to the bench, where Fraser Brown – who recovered from a knee injury to join the squad this week – replaces fellow Glasgow Warriors hooker George Turner.

Townsend added: “Scotland’s recent history against Australia has been one of close-fought matches and, after a couple of narrow defeats, we managed to record a win last June out in Sydney.

“Our players have been training hard and will draw on all they’ve learned in the games against Samoa and New Zealand to rise to the challenge of this final Autumn Test.”

Scotland team to play Australia at BT Murrayfield
Saturday 25 November (kick-off 2.30pm)  live on BBC / BT Sport
15. Stuart Hogg VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 55 caps
14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 38 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 10 caps
12. Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps
11. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 28 caps
10. Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors) – 31 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 10 caps
1. Darryl Marfo (Edinburgh Rugby) – 2 caps
2. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) – 11 caps
3. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) – 4 caps
4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) – 17 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 37 caps
6. John Barclay CAPTAIN (Scarlets) – 65 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) – 14 caps
8. Ryan Wilson VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 31 caps
16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – 2 caps
18. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 14 caps
19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby) – 6 caps
20. Cornell du Preez (Edinburgh Rugby) – 4 caps
21. Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors) – 26 caps
22. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 27 caps
23. Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) – 1 cap
%d bloggers like this: